The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild


This is the Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild newspaper that brings you update information and tips to help you on your (very long) journey!


As you may know, the main character is a boy called Link (the character you play as) and the princess Zelda is the princess who is trapped in Hyrule Castle fighting an evil monster who took control of the land named Gannon.

Zelda left, Link right:


One hundred years ago, the residents of Hyrule discovered ancient technology made by the Sheikah tribe that would help them defeat Gannon. This technology is the four divine beasts and the guardians. However, Gannon takes control of the creatures and devastates Hyrule. The divine beasts champions are killed and now belong to Gannon.

100 years later…

Link wakes up from a hundred year healing sleep because of the injuries he received from the last time he faced Calamity Gannon. After Link was defeated, Zelda was trapped in the castle fighting Gannon all by herself. After you wake up you need to explore the very large open world collecting armour, weapons and other helpful things. Once you are strong enough you can travel to the divine beasts and beat the dungeon inside to take them back. Then you can get stronger so you can defeat Gannon!

Shrines and Towers

Towers are tall structures that you climb and scan in order to uncover new parts of the map. Shrines are small buildings that take you into a puzzle room. When you complete the puzzle, you receive a spirit orb which you can trade in for an extra heart or a stamina boost.






Divine Beasts

There are four divine beasts in BOTW:

Divine Beast Vah Ruta (of Zora’s domain)

Divine Beast Vah Rudania (of Death Mountain)

Divine Beast Vah Medoh (of Hebra)

Divine Beast Vah Naboris (of Gerudo)

To defeat them you must undergo the divine beast trial which is inside the divine beast itself. In each divine beast you have to get a different amount of terminals which you get to by puzzles. Once you have got all of the terminals you can go to the main control unit but it gets corrupted meaning that you have to fight one of the gannon forms:

Waterblight ganon (Scourge of Divine Beast Vah Ruta)

Fireblight ganon (Scourge of Divine Beast Vah Rudania)

Windblight Ganon (Scourge of Divine Beast Vah Medoh)

Thunderblight Ganon (Scourge of Divine Beast Vah Naboris)

After you defeat the ganon form in the Divine Beast then the  divine beast goes to a certain point and fires a red laser. Once you have got all of the divine beasts in there positions they zap Calamity Ganon when you get to it. This takes calamity ganon down to half health, making the boss fight easier. Also, the leader of the village that sent you the divine beast quest gives you a special weapon.

Calamity Ganon:

Calamity Ganon is the main boss. Also, if you complete all of the Divine Beasts they xap him making him go to half health which makes the boss fight easier.

Main Enemies:


Lynels are considered the hardest enemy in the game that is not a mini boss, some consider the dreaded beast to be harder than the mini bosses themselves! Lynels are sometimes found with a sword, shield and a bow and have hard – hitting, mean attacks. Lynels have a variety of attacks, both ranged and melee, such as shooting fireballs out of their mouth, body slamming on you and charging full force into your tiny, hylian body, but it is easy to dodge them if you get used to their attack pattern.


The bokoblin is the most common enemy that you will run into in BOTW and for good reason as they are pretty easy to defeat in the early stages of the game.Their most common gear is the boko club (see above) and shield, or a basic boko bow.The higher level bokoblins such as the black, green and white bokoblins carry higher level weapons such as the spiked boko bow, club and shield.


The moblin is simply a larger, stronger version of the bokoblin with higher leveled weapons like the moblin club. Like the bokoblin there are green black and white versions that are more difficult to defeat.

(The moblin and bokoblin both have skeletal forms that come out at night).



The Lizalfos is a sneaky lizard type enemy that can carry bows, shields or spears. Also, they can swim. One of there attacks in a long lunge at you, another is a simple jab or they throw stones at you.

This is all you need to know to get a good start in the Legend Of Zelda, Breath Of The Wild. We hope that you found this helpful and interesting!


By Joe Chishti and Isaac McCourt